Register

DoubleCAD XT v5 has released

New to DoubleCAD
Read 3550 times
* December 08, 2009, 09:40:18 PM
Hi,

As stated I'm new to DoubleCAD, I some years ago had a copy of Turbo CAD V4 that I used mainly for hobbys until about 2 years ago when a lightning strike destroyed my complete computer system - exit Turbo Cad - I know I had a copy archived someware but I have never been able to locate it. :'(

Yesterday I was trolling the net looking for something to take its place when I stumbled upon DoubleCAD and downloaded a copy, I spent some time playing around with it and not having used a CAD program for some years I wasn't making much headway and the users guide wasn't helping me a great deal. So to cut along story short, I dug out a copy of the Turbo Cad user manual, because I remembered it had some good tutorials to work through that helped you get familiar with the tools and what they do, and to my surprise (so far) I have been able to follow the tuts in DoubleCAD, some of the tools are in different places but most seem to work in the same way and it is much easier to understand.

So I would suggest that if you are new to DoubleCAD and CAD programs in general it may help you if you can get your hands on a copy of the Turbo Cad V4 user guide, maybe ISMI can dig up a copy and make it available?

Just to finish off, last night I was searching for some files and what did I discover?  Yes, you guessed it I found my long lost Turbo Cad 4 - I will probably persist with DoubleCAD, but I now have a fall back option if it confounds me completely.

Max

December 21, 2009, 12:14:08 AM
Hi Max, DoubleCad is a mix of TurboCad and DesignCad, more of TurboCad. As a user also of TC, I find it easy to use. I have changed a few of the key functions to suit me - so it is more like Autoflop, autocon, autodog - call it what you will.

Welcome along too!

BETA man and proud Kiwi. aka Steve The Kiwi
Supreme writer of DesignCAD Tutorials
Toshiba L50 Laptop - It is OK.