Register

DoubleCAD XT v5 has released

How Do I Draw (and cut & paste) on Layers?
Read 3568 times
* December 30, 2009, 10:02:46 AM
I have been unable to draw on other layers. (I'm just beginning with CAD.)

On layer 0, I drew two tables (plan view, so they are just a rectangles, 2.5'x8'). Then I set brush properties so that one had cross hatching and the other had dots. I also added a text box to the center of each table. One says "Club", the other "Rental."

Question 1: the tables look fine. However, I would like to have the table rectangle on layer 'a' and the shading and text on layer 'b'. I can not figure out how to draw on another layer. My first attempt had me drawing on 'invisible' layer 1. Can you tell me how to access the separate layers.

Question 2: Eventually, I would like to make a floor plan of a banquet room (lets say, another rectangle) on a separate layer, eg layer 'c'. Then I would cut and paste several multi-layered tables into the banquet room. Thus I would have:

• Layer a: Table rectangles
  • Layer b: Table shading and text
  • Layer c: Room floor plan

My goal is to print a floor plan with the table locations (layers a & c), and another floor plan showing the locations of the table types (layers a, b, &c).

Is this possible? Can I cut and paste the tables and table text when they are on multiple layers?

Thank you for your help,
Harry

* December 30, 2009, 10:27:26 AM