TurboCAD LTE/DoubleCAD Forum

DoubleCAD XT => Bug reporting => Topic started by: Doug on April 08, 2009, 08:40:14 AM

Title: DoubleCAD XT and DoubleCAD XT PRO Maintenance Release 1 (M1) Nominations
Post by: Doug on April 08, 2009, 08:40:14 AM

Hello DoubleCAD Users,

As we prepare to solidify our DoubleCAD products even more with Maintenance Release 1 (M1), we want to make sure that we have captured any bugs and errors that you may have encountered.  If you have not reported it already, please let us know of any additional problems you may have encountered for nomination to be fixed in M1.  We are committed to maintain a reliable and quality product so your input is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
Title: Re: DoubleCAD XT and DoubleCAD XT PRO Maintenance Release 1 (M1) Nominations
Post by: makr on April 08, 2009, 10:24:15 AM
Hi. Would help if we could have a list of known bugs. That way we'd know that bugs we're thinking of reporting (or have already reported) aren't in the list. Some bugs reported may have got lost in the mail, so to say.  :)
Title: Re: DoubleCAD XT and DoubleCAD XT PRO Maintenance Release 1 (M1) Nominations
Post by: Doug on April 08, 2009, 11:03:11 AM
Hi. Would help if we could have a list of known bugs.

Hi Makr,

Go ahead and report the bugs even if you are not sure if it has been reported already.  This will help us validate how common the bug is based on the number of reports.

Thanks.
Title: Re: DoubleCAD XT and DoubleCAD XT PRO Maintenance Release 1 (M1) Nominations
Post by: makr on April 12, 2009, 10:01:23 PM
Well, here are some that I've experienced:
1. Cannot use selection rectangle when rotating the UCS (workplane). You can select by clicking, however.
2. Hotkeys for Select (spacebar, shift+spacebar) do not work with many tools - rectangle, circle, offset etc. The only way to get out these is to manually click on "select"
3. "Relocate origin" button (icon) missing in DC Pro toolbar (Present in the std. version).
4. DC Std. cannot open files saved in the Pro version.
5. Direct input - or, rather, TABbing in D.I. - doesn't work with some tools, e.g. rectangle. Type in distance, TAB to next, and the previous distance resets to cursor coordinates.
6. In Gradient Hatch interface, naming/renaming bug (Retrogade bug according to Brian ;) )
7. Impossible to move end of a wall at corner - without moving the attached "autoheal-3d" wall. (Autolink and Autoheal are turned on whether you want it or not.)
8. Cannot snap to midpoint of arc. (Can this be called a bug?)

Will try to add to this, as and when I remember/find them. Hope to see them all throoughly squashed in the Maintainence release. ;)
Title: Re: DoubleCAD XT and DoubleCAD XT PRO Maintenance Release 1 (M1) Nominations
Post by: Rob S on April 13, 2009, 06:41:50 AM

I think there were several issues with Dimension styles raised - see here

http://forums.doublecad.com/index.php?topic=323.0
Title: Re: DoubleCAD XT and DoubleCAD XT PRO Maintenance Release 1 (M1) Nominations
Post by: makr on April 13, 2009, 08:36:12 AM
...Which gives me thsi:
"An Error Has Occurred!
The topic or board you are looking for appears to be either missing or off limits to you. "
Has it, perhaps, been classified as Secret ?  ;D
Title: Re: DoubleCAD XT and DoubleCAD XT PRO Maintenance Release 1 (M1) Nominations
Post by: Nick on April 13, 2009, 11:49:26 AM
It's in the beta group.
Title: Re: DoubleCAD XT and DoubleCAD XT PRO Maintenance Release 1 (M1) Nominations
Post by: Rob S on April 13, 2009, 11:57:33 AM
Moderators - help me out here, where bugs were originally posted in beta forum, I see now that I can't link to them.

Having asked for a list of bugs here, is it OK to paste in the text of the earlier reported bugs, or not talk about them, or what?

Or is this request strictly for new bugs found by non-beta forum participants?? 

For example there were several issues reported regarding leaders.  Should we bring forward to here for all to see, or are those old lists still being looked at?
Title: Re: DoubleCAD XT and DoubleCAD XT PRO Maintenance Release 1 (M1) Nominations
Post by: thebrian on April 13, 2009, 01:40:58 PM
Rob -
Rest assured that all of the suggestions made on the Beta section, have been taken seriously and all are under consideration. Many if not most are on the roadmap for current and future development.  What we are trying to do here is acquire new input. If possible I would like to keep this thread for any new issues from anyone and for issues from new users that are not a part of the beta team. That way we can gauge significance and severity from a larger sample set of users.
The M1 is going to be on a Very short cycle, and is targeted at those issues that are most egregious (XT & XT PRO file compatibility), and that we can rectify in a short period (mostly requests from beta testers, and enhancements rolling out from TC16).
Title: Re: DoubleCAD XT and DoubleCAD XT PRO Maintenance Release 1 (M1) Nominations
Post by: Nick on April 13, 2009, 04:01:05 PM
Something needs to be done with ACAD mtext columns.  Currently it gets brought in as one single long column and creates a big mess in some cases.

Revclouds!

Pickpoint Hatches should work with xrefs.

Mixed numbers (whole & fractional) in input boxes (dynamic input).

Round tripping from ACAD to DCAD to ACAD completely kills all dynamic blocks and makes them into regular, stupid, blocks.

Make preference settings part of Workspace or at least give some way to save them.  Whenever DCAD crashes these need to be reset. (very annoying)
Title: Re: DoubleCAD XT and DoubleCAD XT PRO Maintenance Release 1 (M1) Nominations
Post by: imasayer on May 01, 2009, 10:15:50 AM
I have spent more time with the program and here are some things I see.  Some of this stuff may have already been addressed, but I am a new user just working basically with default settings.  If anyone had any suggestions for the frustrations I am having, feel free to comment.

Bug Items:

Program randomly creates point that all commands originate from, like a snap point that you canít work around.  Had to close the program in order to get it to go away.  Happens from time to time.  Last time I did it, it happened while I was using the extend command.

Escape to get out of a command does not work on many commands.

Wish List Items:

When drafting with most commands, I would like to just enter a dimension with out having to tab several times in order to get a distance I want.  (i.e. Autocad and Sketcup)  I personally have never drawn from one main origin point in a drawing.  When I move, copy, stretch, etc. it is always from the origin point of the object I am editing.

Having to move an origin point every time I move an object is a step that is very tedious.  Would much rather have a move command more akin to Autocad, that would allow me snap to the point I want to move from then snap to the point to move to.

I love being able to select a group of objects and quickly edit them, so the dynamic editing stuff is a step in the right direction. Love the simplicity of the rotate command.  Something I think that would make your dynamic editing even more powerful is if the corner drag handles scaled an object or group of objects and the center drag handles did a stretch command.  Maybe you could include a shift+drag that constrains the proportions.

Why two copy commands?  For me copy is worthless, and vector copy is all I will ever use.  The copy command is at least one thing that Autocad got close to right, and Sketchup nailed.  I would love to see a dynamic edit that worked like Sketchup.  You can select an object, snap to a point on that object to move it, press control to copy it, and enter x + a number to create an array.  Gets rid of several steps.

General Thoughts:

Let me just first thank you for creating an affordable program for 2D drafting.  I think there is an enormous market potential for this software.  If I could offer one suggestion it would be this: emulate the Sketchup model of software development rather than the Autodesk one.  By that I mean create a software with itís own identity, simplicity, and is much less convoluted that Autocad.  I think you are doing that to a point, but I would like to see it go further.

 It seems to me that every new version of Autocad I have used tends to add more and more extraneous features I donít ever use,. They have so many years of baggage that have made it into version after version of the software for fear angering long time users.  Autocad did not make any significant improvements to the program from version 14 to Acad 2006 IMO.  It was the same program with more ďflareĒ.

Sketchup on the other hand has created a very basic set of powerful tools that anyone can quickly learn, and for the most part had added features that improve the day to day usability of the software.  Since the first week I used SU I have longed for a 2D drafting program that was as easy to use.  Powerful doesnít have to be complicated.

Congratulations on a great piece of software, I am excited to see where it goes. 

Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away. -Antoine de Saint-Exupery
Title: Re: DoubleCAD XT and DoubleCAD XT PRO Maintenance Release 1 (M1) Nominations
Post by: wmanning on May 01, 2009, 07:38:31 PM
Great feedback.  We'll have a number of discussions about this post I'm sure.

There are a few items that sounded a bit odd, that I think might be settings issues, in particular the origin issues you mentioned.  I'll check with Brian, as he can probably diagnose pretty quickly.

Thanks again for the post.

William
Title: Re: DoubleCAD XT and DoubleCAD XT PRO Maintenance Release 1 (M1) Nominations
Post by: imasayer on May 03, 2009, 08:02:26 AM
It is quite possible that in some of the items I mentioned, I am just doing it wrong.  :)
Title: Re: DoubleCAD XT and DoubleCAD XT PRO Maintenance Release 1 (M1) Nominations
Post by: thebrian on May 04, 2009, 10:21:54 AM
I have spent more time with the program and here are some things I see.  Some of this stuff may have already been addressed, but I am a new user just working basically with default settings.  If anyone had any suggestions for the frustrations I am having, feel free to comment.

Quote
Bug Items:

Program randomly creates point that all commands originate from, like a snap point that you can’t work around.  Had to close the program in order to get it to go away.  Happens from time to time.  Last time I did it, it happened while I was using the extend command.

The point I believe you are refferring to is the "last point used" Some commands depend on this function in some cases, but it should not intefere with normal operation. Could you expand on the sequence that is causing a problem - espesially with the  extend command? Pictures would also be helpful.

Quote
Escape to get out of a command does not work on many commands.

We are working on this - there should be substantial improvement in v2.

Quote
Wish List Items:

When drafting with most commands, I would like to just enter a dimension with out having to tab several times in order to get a distance I want.  (i.e. Autocad and Sketcup)  I personally have never drawn from one main origin point in a drawing.  When I move, copy, stretch, etc. it is always from the origin point of the object I am editing.

When you pick up an object (click on the Yellow reference point) two "Delta" fields appear. These allow you to move objects relative to the objects current position. In future versions these fields will appear whenever an object is selected. rotating and scaling are already relative to the objects reference point.

Quote
Having to move an origin point every time I move an object is a step that is very tedious.  Would much rather have a move command more akin to Autocad, that would allow me snap to the point I want to move from then snap to the point to move to.

We are working on that.

Quote
I love being able to select a group of objects and quickly edit them, so the dynamic editing stuff is a step in the right direction. Love the simplicity of the rotate command.  Something I think that would make your dynamic editing even more powerful is if the corner drag handles scaled an object or group of objects and the center drag handles did a stretch command.  Maybe you could include a shift+drag that constrains the proportions.

Already in. Holding down SHIFT while dragging the blue handle of the selector does constraing proportions, and the center drag handle do strech the selected objects.

Quote
Why two copy commands?  For me copy is worthless, and vector copy is all I will ever use.  The copy command is at least one thing that Autocad got close to right, and Sketchup nailed.  I would love to see a dynamic edit that worked like Sketchup.  You can select an object, snap to a point on that object to move it, press control to copy it, and enter x + a number to create an array.  Gets rid of several steps.

The "Copy" command allows you to rubber stamp. This is often useful for make multiple copies that are note constained to a more formal pattern.

RE: SketchUP copying.  We will be adding a "Make Copy" option to the selector in M1. This will make copy the object derived from any rotation move or scale that you do.  The ability to specify the number of copies would be and excellant in further future additions.

Quote
General Thoughts:

Let me just first thank you for creating an affordable program for 2D drafting.  I think there is an enormous market potential for this software.  If I could offer one suggestion it would be this: emulate the Sketchup model of software development rather than the Autodesk one.  By that I mean create a software with it’s own identity, simplicity, and is much less convoluted that Autocad.  I think you are doing that to a point, but I would like to see it go further.

 It seems to me that every new version of Autocad I have used tends to add more and more extraneous features I don’t ever use,. They have so many years of baggage that have made it into version after version of the software for fear angering long time users.  Autocad did not make any significant improvements to the program from version 14 to Acad 2006 IMO.  It was the same program with more “flare”.

Sketchup on the other hand has created a very basic set of powerful tools that anyone can quickly learn, and for the most part had added features that improve the day to day usability of the software.  Since the first week I used SU I have longed for a 2D drafting program that was as easy to use.  Powerful doesn’t have to be complicated.

Congratulations on a great piece of software, I am excited to see where it goes. 

Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away. -Antoine de Saint-Exupery


Thanks for the input
-B
Title: Re: DoubleCAD XT and DoubleCAD XT PRO Maintenance Release 1 (M1) Nominations
Post by: imasayer on May 04, 2009, 03:45:52 PM
Thanks Brian,

Can't wait for the new release!
Title: Re: DoubleCAD XT and DoubleCAD XT PRO Maintenance Release 1 (M1) Nominations
Post by: makr on May 04, 2009, 07:01:02 PM

Quote
Wish List Items:

When drafting with most commands, I would like to just enter a dimension with out having to tab several times in order to get a distance I want.  (i.e. Autocad and Sketcup)  I personally have never drawn from one main origin point in a drawing.  When I move, copy, stretch, etc. it is always from the origin point of the object I am editing.

When you pick up an object (click on the Yellow reference point) two "Delta" fields appear. These allow you to move objects relative to the objects current position. In future versions these fields will appear whenever an object is selected. rotating and scaling are already relative to the objects reference point.

You can also type DX / DY (the capitalized letters in the Command Line Prompt), and press ENTER to be taken to the relevant input field.
Anyway, I (too) am glad to hear of these improvements to an already easy-to-use program.

Quote
Quote
Having to move an origin point every time I move an object is a step that is very tedious.  Would much rather have a move command more akin to Autocad, that would allow me snap to the point I want to move from then snap to the point to move to.

We are working on that.
Actually, here too I'd like to mention that you don't really have to select the Move command. Just select the objects, Alt-D (or rt-click, and choose "Edit Reference Point"), and click on  the Transform that you wish; then type in the required figures, or use snaps to finish. Still, this assumes a certain level of knowledge.


Quote
Quote
I love being able to select a group of objects and quickly edit them, so the dynamic editing stuff is a step in the right direction. Love the simplicity of the rotate command.  Something I think that would make your dynamic editing even more powerful is if the corner drag handles scaled an object or group of objects and the center drag handles did a stretch command.  Maybe you could include a shift+drag that constrains the proportions.

Already in. Holding down SHIFT while dragging the blue handle of the selector does constraing proportions, and the center drag handle do strech the selected objects.

I'd like to second this request; it's more in line with many other programs. While it's true about using Shift, it's not really very convenient if you want to scale, for example, 1.25 in all directions.

Quote
Quote
Why two copy commands?  For me copy is worthless, and vector copy is all I will ever use.  The copy command is at least one thing that Autocad got close to right, and Sketchup nailed.  I would love to see a dynamic edit that worked like Sketchup.  You can select an object, snap to a point on that object to move it, press control to copy it, and enter x + a number to create an array.  Gets rid of several steps.

The "Copy" command allows you to rubber stamp. This is often useful for make multiple copies that are note constained to a more formal pattern.

RE: SketchUP copying.  We will be adding a "Make Copy" option to the selector in M1. This will make copy the object derived from any rotation move or scale that you do.  The ability to specify the number of copies would be and excellant in further future additions.

That's really welcome news. But - pardon me for being a wet blanket - the Sketchup mode allows you to not only make copies, but make an array; divide the distance by array; make polar array etc. All this without leaving the current tool, in an one-click operation.


Quote
General Thoughts:

Let me just first thank you for creating an affordable program for 2D drafting.  I think there is an enormous market potential for this software.  If I could offer one suggestion it would be this: emulate the Sketchup model of software development rather than the Autodesk one.  By that I mean create a software with itís own identity, simplicity, and is much less convoluted that Autocad.  I think you are doing that to a point, but I would like to see it go further.

 It seems to me that every new version of Autocad I have used tends to add more and more extraneous features I donít ever use,. They have so many years of baggage that have made it into version after version of the software for fear angering long time users.  Autocad did not make any significant improvements to the program from version 14 to Acad 2006 IMO.  It was the same program with more ďflareĒ.

Sketchup on the other hand has created a very basic set of powerful tools that anyone can quickly learn, and for the most part had added features that improve the day to day usability of the software.  Since the first week I used SU I have longed for a 2D drafting program that was as easy to use.  Powerful doesnít have to be complicated.

-B

Seconded. Both on preferring the Sketchup "simplicity" mode to Autocad's. And for making a lovely program. (I really love your context-sensitive rt-click menus - so much better than Autocad's).  And a fast-improving, affordable, and lovely program ;)

Title: Re: DoubleCAD XT and DoubleCAD XT PRO Maintenance Release 1 (M1) Nominations
Post by: Doug on May 05, 2009, 07:30:36 AM

"I really love your context-sensitive rt-click menus - so much better than Autocad's"

Hello Makr,

Thanks for your input.  Per your quote above, what items do you like better with DoubleCAD's context sensitive right-click menus over AutoCAD's?  We just want to track DoubleCAD Advantages.

Thanks in advance!
Doug
Title: Re: DoubleCAD XT and DoubleCAD XT PRO Maintenance Release 1 (M1) Nominations
Post by: Nick on May 05, 2009, 08:04:45 AM
 ???  DCAD's rt click is no more context sensative than ACAD's as far as I can tell.  Am I missing something?
Title: Re: DoubleCAD XT and DoubleCAD XT PRO Maintenance Release 1 (M1) Nominations
Post by: thebrian on May 05, 2009, 08:54:56 AM
The toolbars at the top are context sensitive. They provide access to othere relevant tools, when a specific tool is active. They are also customizable.

In the Tools | Customize dialog under popups and tool groups you can specify when and how tools will appear in the context sensitive toolbar of the right click menu
Title: Re: DoubleCAD XT and DoubleCAD XT PRO Maintenance Release 1 (M1) Nominations
Post by: Nick on May 05, 2009, 11:13:13 AM
So your talking toolbars?  This would be akin to ACAD's context sensitive ribbon? 

Sorry, if I make alot of comparisons to ACAD, but it is the golden standard for production CAD.  Please take it as flattery, I want DCAD to be at least as good as ACAD, but really better.
Title: Re: DoubleCAD XT and DoubleCAD XT PRO Maintenance Release 1 (M1) Nominations
Post by: Doug on May 05, 2009, 11:25:21 AM

Thanks for your comments Brian and Nick.  To be fair, AutoCAD's right-click context menu is customizable and so are other contextual interfaces such as ribbon and quick properties.   Is there anything else where DoubleCAD's right-click menu offers additional advantages?

We want to make DoubleCAD better and are researching all opportunities for it to excel in.  This includes right-click functionality and beyond.
Title: Re: DoubleCAD XT and DoubleCAD XT PRO Maintenance Release 1 (M1) Nominations
Post by: Nick on May 05, 2009, 12:01:08 PM
Give us (shift + rt click) and (Ctrl. + rt click) menus. ;D
Title: Re: DoubleCAD XT and DoubleCAD XT PRO Maintenance Release 1 (M1) Nominations
Post by: Doug on May 05, 2009, 12:17:55 PM

Those are good ones!   :)
Title: Re: DoubleCAD XT and DoubleCAD XT PRO Maintenance Release 1 (M1) Nominations
Post by: Royal on May 05, 2009, 02:22:58 PM
Sorry, if I make alot of comparisons to ACAD, but it is the golden standard for production CAD.  Please take it as flattery, I want DCAD to be at least as good as ACAD, but really better.

That's what we want, no need to apologize for great input.  Thank you!
Title: Re: DoubleCAD XT and DoubleCAD XT PRO Maintenance Release 1 (M1) Nominations
Post by: thebrian on May 05, 2009, 02:31:23 PM
Nick

a little bit, but not really
These are not main toolbars that are context sensitive. Rather the are the toolbars which appear at the top of the context menu (right click) when a tool is active.
Title: Re: DoubleCAD XT and DoubleCAD XT PRO Maintenance Release 1 (M1) Nominations
Post by: Nick on May 05, 2009, 03:49:59 PM
Oh..., these (below)?
Title: Re: DoubleCAD XT and DoubleCAD XT PRO Maintenance Release 1 (M1) Nominations
Post by: makr on May 06, 2009, 12:38:09 AM

"I really love your context-sensitive rt-click menus - so much better than Autocad's"

Hello Makr,

Thanks for your input.  Per your quote above, what items do you like better with DoubleCAD's context sensitive right-click menus over AutoCAD's?  We just want to track DoubleCAD Advantages.

Thanks in advance!
Doug


Sorry; for some reason, I missed this. But it looks like Brian has already answered. An example would be in the Arc's local menu: all alternatives for the arc (3pt, tan-tan-radius, etc) - with their icons arranged neatly, and the options below. Combined with the std,  rt-click menu  for changing the view (Front, Right...), it does make things so much easier. (Perhaps not connected: but I really prefer DC's way of dealing with polylines - insert arc, select a segment by window-select two vertices, etc.)

Of course, both Doublecad and Autocad's context menus can be customised, so perhaps it's not much of an issue. Also Autocad's handling of the snap context menu is better - both by it's direct access by shift+rt-click; and the grouping.

Title: Re: DoubleCAD XT and DoubleCAD XT PRO Maintenance Release 1 (M1) Nominations
Post by: Doug on May 06, 2009, 06:58:49 AM

Thanks Makr for elaborating on the context menu.  Those are some differences and do make sense.